MOREnet Blogs

Microsoft has changed quite number of things in Windows 10 from previous versions. Some of these changes, such as those to the Task Manager and file copy interface, are a vast improvement (if long overdue). Other changes, however, are simply arbitrary and annoying and potentially detrimental if you are not paying close attention.

One of the latter such changes is the removal of the confirmation dialog box for deleting files. If you tell Windows Explorer to delete something in Windows 10, it will immediately move it to the recycle bin. While this change was probably intended to make things easier or less annoying for some users, in reality it mainly succeeds in making accidental deletions far too easy. If you accidentally press the delete key while a folder or file is selected, or accidentally hit delete in the context menu, you may not even notice the file being removed. This is particularly easy to do on a laptop or touchscreen device. Personally, I do not review the contents of the recycle bin before I empty it, because in the past it has always been difficult enough to delete things that I was confident everything was in there for a reason. I can’t be the only person to have this habit, and many cleaner utilities will automatically clear the recycle bin, so it should be easy to see why silent deletions have the potential to be a big problem, despite Microsoft’s apparent feelings to the contrary.

Fortunately, the fix for this problem takes less time to explain than the reasoning behind it. All you need to do is right click the Recycle Bin icon and go to Properties. Make sure “Display delete confirmation dialog” is checked, then click OK. Your Windows 10 experience is now one small step closer to sanity.

 

Leave a Reply